Launching a New Show: The State of Independents

Tune in Saturdays at 3 pm for our new hour-long show entitled The State of Independents. Hosted by The Acoustic Village committee member Donald Finigan, it will feature exclusively independent music — musicians represented by independent labels or with no recording contract at all.

This curated program will be a mix of varying musical styles presented in three-song sets followed by commentary about the artists. While local musicians will often be featured, the intent is to provide exposure for musicians regardless of their geographical origin (although Canadian content will be predominant). 

Featured artists in this inaugural show will be The Underground Divas, Matthew McCully, Noah Zacharin, Amos J, Craig Cardiff, Megan Slankard, Durham County Poets, Rob Lutes, Jeffery Straker, Mario Pronovost, Kyra Shaughnessy and Orit Shimoni.

Show repeats the following Monday at 9 pm, after which the podcast can be heard at Musicians interested in submitting their music for airplay are welcome to contact us at